Happy 2014!

Well it’s finally 2014 and I hope everyone is enjoying the new year! The last month has been busy, which explains the lack of posts.

Overall, 2013 was a good running year. I accomplished most of my goals:

  1. I ran my first marathon
  2. I logged over 1000 miles for the year
Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 5.32.07 PM

2013 mileage. Almost enough to run from my house to my parents’ house.

I didn’t make my goal of a sub 2-hour half marathon, but I did run a new PR of 2:01:00. So, not too shabby.

As I head into 2014, I am excited by the prospect of new opportunities and challenges. By excited, I mean totally freaked out. I plan to finish up my PhD this year, which should make me happy…but honestly it just makes me realize that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do with my life.

One thing I do know, however, is that I will continue to run! So here are my running goals for 2014:

  1. Run a <2:00:00 half marathon
  2. Qualify for the half fanatics
  3. Run another marathon, preferably in under 4:45
  4. Do more of my winter training outdoors
Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 2.07.29 PM

Weather from my first run in 2014

I also have some general life goals:

  1. Use my iron. I have an iron that has never been used and a lot of clothes in the back of my closet that I don’t wear because they need to be ironed.
  2. Cut myself a little more slack. Setting high standards is good…to a point. But when your first thought after crossing the finish line at your first marathon is “I could have done better,” it might be a sign to ease up a bit.
  3. Cook more. I have this goal every year. I still can’t really cook. This year, I pledge to attempt at least 15 new recipes.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

