Terrified of Twenty!

Tomorrow I am scheduled to go for my longest run ever:

20 miles!

It sounds so scary and I am really nervous!

When I first started running, I felt like this about every long run. I remember when 6mi seemed unattainable. Lately, though, I have felt pretty calm about longer runs and they don’t disrupt my schedule the way they used to. But 20 just feels…different.

In order to calm my nerves, I have prepared myself ahead of time. I have my route mapped out. I have my Garmin charged and my phone ready with podcasts. I have my running clothes out and my fuel packed.

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

I am trying to calm myself by remembering that it’s only about 4mi more than my previous longest distance. I have done two 16 milers – one was great and one was terrible. But I know that with every mile, it gets harder to tack one more on.

Luckily, the weather looks like it will be great!

Screen Shot 2013-09-20 at 5.10.50 PM

I am also a little bit excited – 20mi makes my upcoming marathon feel so much more real. It’s also something that, just three years ago, I never could have imagined myself doing.

Do you have a run planned for the weekend? How do you deal with long run anxiety?

6 thoughts on “Terrified of Twenty!

  1. So psyched for you. Given what you have already accomplished (running and otherwise), you can do anything!!! Can’t wait to get your report on this.

  2. You’re going to be great! It can be daunting the first time your run a new distance but just keep thinking positive thoughts and know that you’ve got this 🙂 I have a run planned this weekend but a much shorter distance – about 5 miles. I’m training for a half marathon in November and one in December.

  3. I have my first 20 tomorrow too. I’m not really looking forward to it – it just takes so.darn.long! But at least you’ll have that feeling of accomplishment to carry you through the rest of the weekend. And a very valid excuse to eat whatever you want!

  4. Twenty is totally doable, especially since you have done 16. In my last miles of long runs and marathons, I will sometimes listen to podcasts instead of music because they are anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and a half long, so I can get lost in one of those and take my mind off the final mileage. 🙂 Good Luck!!

  5. Pingback: Tackling Twenty | NoelleRuns

Leave a Reply

