16 Miles

Some days the stars align and you have a perfect run.  Today was not one of those days.

My 16-miler was beyond tough and it took all I had to keep going. I knew this run would be hard within the first 100 feet, my legs just felt like lead.

Glad I brought lots of fuel along!

Glad I brought lots of fuel along!

Somehow I managed to keep putting one foot in front of the other, although it wasn’t pretty. I stopped and walked a lot, which is unusual for me. I called my parents to talk while I ran, just to keep me distracted. Finally, when I thought I couldn’t go any further, I made it home.

Am I there yet?

Am I there yet?

As someone who expects a lot from myself, it’s easy for me to feel like today was a failure. I keep reminding myself that I moved my body 16.58 miles…which isn’t too shabby! It wasn’t perfect, but I did it.

I am glad this wasn’t my first attempt at 16 miles – so I know I have it in me to cover the distance comfortably. Some days are just harder than others.

On hard days, I try to think about things that might have affected my run. Sometimes it’s obvious, other times it’s not. Today there were two clear issues:

1. Lack of sleep.
I have averaged 4 hours of sleep the past three nights. This has been shock to my system since I, like all super cool twenty-somethings, am usually in bed by 10pm.

2. Weather.
As a morning runner, I usually avoid the heat of the day. This morning I had to attend volunteer orientation for Ironman Wisconsin, so my run was pushed back later into the day. The temperature and sun took a toll on me!

Yuck!

Yuck!

How do you deal with a tough run?

6 thoughts on “16 Miles

  1. Pingback: Rest Day Reflections | NoelleRuns

  2. Those runs are tough! Lack of sleep would have been so rough for me- I cannot function with less than 7 hours! Good for you for getting it done.

  3. Pingback: Beautiful 10 Miler | NoelleRuns

  4. Pingback: Terrified of Twenty! | NoelleRuns

Leave a Reply

