How it All Began

I have never been athletic. I used to fake sick to get out of gym class. When my parents made me go to soccer camp, I wanted to cry.

It’s not that I didn’t want to play sports, but they all involved one thing I just hated…running. “Why would any one do that willingly?” I always wondered when I saw people out for a run. I just didn’t get it.

The face I used to make when thinking about running :-/

The face I used to make when thinking about running :-/

My anti-running attitude lasted all the way up until the summer after my first year of graduate school. Graduate school can be stressful, and I managed to put on the doctoral student version of the freshman 15 pretty quickly.

One the phone one day, I vented to my mother about my weight and about school. My mom, who had recently run her first half marathon, suggested I take up running. I resisted. And resisted. And resisted some more.

Then my mom made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. She would take me to Disney World…if I agreed to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon with her. Next thing I knew I was registered for my first half marathon.

How could I refuse a chance to run through this castle!?!

How could I refuse a chance to run through this castle!?!

The first day I went out to run…well, it wasn’t pretty. The stitch in my side wouldn’t go away and I thought I was going to pass out after jogging for 30 seconds. But amazingly, I didn’t quit. Every run got a little easier and after six months of training, I earned my first piece of running bling.

Well, you can't see the medal...but it's there and it's beautiful!

Well, you can’t see the medal…but it’s there and it’s beautiful!

Crossing that finish line changed my life. I just wanted to run again! Since that day I have become one of those crazy people who actually loves to run. Sure, somedays it’s hard. Somedays I would rather stay in bed. But in my heart, I am a runner.

12 thoughts on “How it All Began

  1. Now make your mother take you to some other Disney races- the 1/2 Marathon weekend, the Wine and Dine 1/2, the Tower of Terror 10 miler. They run through other parks, just as cool.

  2. Pingback: Rest Day Reflections #4 | NoelleRuns

  3. Pingback: Rest Day Reflections #5 | NoelleRuns

  4. Pingback: I Ran a Marathon! | NoelleRuns

  5. Pingback: Running Disney 2 | NoelleRuns

Leave a Reply

